We are facing reality!

We are facing reality!

Sustainability is not just a slogan for us. Sustainability is in our company name, in our products and in each of our employees. 

Sustainability is not just a slogan for us. Sustainability is in our company name, in our products and in each of our employees. 

We measure our impact

and get the best out of Spoontainable. Just in time for our 3rd birthday, we have probably the greatest gift for you: our contribution to a better world, summarised transparently for you in our Impact Report. 

Hi. We are Spoontainable 👋🏽

Our great team makes a valuable impact every day for a more sustainable world. Because in the future, we want to spoon every ice cream with our Spoonie 🍦. To save millions of tons of plastic cutlery, we have developed the Spoonie. An edible spoon made from rescued cocoa or oat shells. But the Spoonie is more than just a spoon: versatile, stable and simply great. Just like our team. Let's spoon the world together sustainably. 

The Spoonie is just the beginning. In May 2021, we launched the Twirly, our edible stirrer for coffee, tea or your favourite hot drink. Join us in ushering in the Spoonie generation!

#generationspoonie

Our impact: Replaced more than 5 million plastic spoons. 

Our supply chain

Our Spoonies are made from rescued cocoa or oat shells. By upcycling these by-products, we ensure that no food is wasted in the production of our edible spoon alternatives. The raw materials are mainly sourced in Europe and then processed into the edible spoons in Germany. 


Supply Chain Spoontainable

Our impact: More than 6.2 tonnes of cocoa shells and oat fibres reused. 

Why we focus on climate neutrality

Annual carbon dioxide emissions in Germany are around 850 million tonnes..

That is 11 tonnes of CO2 much per German citizen.We are far from perfect, too. Because the production and manufacture of our spoonies naturally also generates CO2. That is why we have decided to compensate for the emissions we generatein order to be climate-neutral.

Together with ClimatePartner , we have calculated our annual carbon footprint. The calculation was made on the basis of the "Greenhouse Gas Protocol Product Life Cycle Accounting and Reporting Standard" (GHG Protocol). The calculation took into account the life cycle phases of extracting the raw materials and packaging, manufacturing the product and delivering the goods to the customer. In other words, our supply chain. A as in the acquisition of raw materials to S as in spoonie..

Our impact: Offset 57,589 kilos of CO2. We beat the plastic spoon equivalents by 1.67 CO2 . 🥊

The plastic problem

348 million tonnes of plastic are produced worldwide every year. 39 kilos of plastic are consumed by the average person per year. It is estimated that by 2050, every species of sea bird will have ingested plastic. And even today, it is estimated that there are more than 5 trillion pieces of plastic floating in our oceans. But the problem is not going to get any better as global plastic production has increased from 2.1 million tonnes (1950) to 348 million tonnes (2019). The fact that plastic takes more than 450 years to decompose makes the problem even more dramatic. 

Our impact: 25.78 tonnes of plastic avoided.

en_USEnglish

Wir blicken der Realität ins Auge!

Nachhaltigkeit ist für uns kein Slogan. Nachhaltigkeit steckt in unserem Unternehmensnamen, in unseren Produkten und in jedem unserer Mitarbeiter:innen. 

Nachhaltigkeit ist für uns kein Slogan. Nachhaltigkeit steckt in unserem Unternehmensnamen, in unseren Produkten und in jedem unserer Mitarbeiter:innen. 

Wir messen unseren Impact

und holen das Beste aus Spoontainable raus. Pünktlich zu unserem 3. Geburtstag haben wir das wahrscheinlich größte Geschenk für dich: Unseren Beitrag für eine bessere Welt, ganz transparent in unserem Impact Report für dich zusammengefasst. 

Hi. Wir sind Spoontainable 👋🏽

Unser großartiges Team leistet jeden Tag wertvollen Impact für eine nachhaltigere Welt. Denn wir wollen in Zukunft jedes Eis mit unserem Spoonie löffeln 🍦. Um die Millionen Tonnen an Plastikbesteck einzusparen, haben wir den Spoonie entwickelt. Ein essbarer Löffel aus geretteten Kakao- bzw. Haferschalen. Aber der Spoonie ist mehr als nur ein Löffel. Vielseitig, stabil und einfach großartig. Genauso wie unser Team. Lasst uns die Welt gemeinsam nachhaltig löffeln. 

Der Spoonie ist erst der Anfang. Im Mai 2021 haben wir den Twirly gelauncht, unser essbares Rührstäbchen für Kaffee, Tee oder dein Lieblingsheißgetränk. Leite mit uns die Generation Spoonie ein!

#generationspoonie

Unser Impact: Mehr als 5 Millionen Plastiklöffel ersetzt. 

Unsere Supply Chain

Unsere Spoonies bestehen aus geretteten Kakao- bzw. Haferschalen. Durch das Upcycling dieser Nebenprodukte stellen wir sicher, dass bei der Produktion unserer essbaren Löffelalternativen keine Lebensmittel verschwendet werden. Die Rohstoffe fallen überwiegend in Europa an und werden dann in Deutschland zu den essbaren Löffel verarbeitet. 


Supply Chain Spoontainable

Unser Impact: Mehr als 6,2 Tonnen Kakaoschalen und Haferfasern wiederverwendet. 

Warum wir auf Klimaneutralität setzen

Der jährliche Kohlenstoffdioxidausstoß liegt in Deutschland bei rund 850 Millionen Tonnen.

Das sind pro Bundesbürger 11 Tonnen CO2 zu viel. Und auch wir sind noch lange nicht perfekt. Denn die Produktion und Herstellung unserer Spoonies erzeugt natürlich auch CO2. Deshalb haben wir uns dazu entschieden, die von uns erzeugten Emissionen zu kompensieren, um so klimaneutral zu agieren.

Zusammen mit ClimatePartner haben wir unseren jährlichen CO2-Fußabdruck berechnet.  Die Berechnung wurde auf Basis des „Greenhouse Gas Protocol Product Life Cycle Accounting and Reporting Standard“ (GHG Protocol) vorgenommen. Bei der Berechnung wurden die Lebenszyklusphasen Gewinnung der Rohstoffe und Verpackung, die Herstellung des Produkts und die Lieferung der Ware bis zum Kunden berücksichtigt. Also unsere Supply Chain von A wie Anschaffung der Rohstoffe bis S wie Spoonie.

Unser Impact: 57.589 Kilo CO2 ausgeglichen. Und den Kunststofflöffel um 1,67 CO2 Äquivalente geschlagen 🥊.

Das Plastikproblem

348 Millionen Tonnen Kunststoff werden pro Jahr weltweit produziert. 39 Kilo Kunststoff verbraucht der Durchschnittsbürger pro Jahr. Schätzungen zufolge wird im Jahre 2050 jede Meeresvogelart Plastik zu sich genommen haben. Und auch heute geht man schon davon aus, dass mehr als 5 Billionen Plastikteile in unseren Meeren schwimmen. Doch das Problem wird nicht besser werden, da die weltweite Plastikproduktion von 2,1 Mio. Tonnen (1950) auf 348 Mio. Tonnen (2019) gestiegen ist. Dass Plastik mehr als 450 Jahre braucht, um sich zu zersetzen, macht das Problem noch dramatischer. 

Unser Impact: 25,78 Tonnen Plastik vermieden.

?
Climatepartner Label
Climatepartner Label
de_DEDeutsch